How Do I Vote For The Blogger Awards?

Yesterday, we were able to announce the nominees for the 2014 blogger awards. It’s a selection from a very talented blogosphere, submitted and voted on by peers in the blogosphere.

Hi, my name is Danielle Saul. As a young professional activist who admires so many in the blogosphere, I couldn’t be more excited about having the opportunity to administer this years awards on behalf of the National Bloggers Club and Blog Bash 2014. This year, with eligible voters having the opportunity to vote before the March 6th event itself, the academy will submit more votes than ever before. It’s a very challenging task, but my team and me are up to challenge!

We intended voting to go live today, however that won’t be the case. Academy voting won’t be able to vote until Monday, February 24th. That’s next week. Voting will stay open for only 48 hours, instead of 10 days like we had originally planned.

But that’s okay. We are credentialing voters for the academy over the next 5 days.

Click here to TWEET BLOGGERS NOW !

Who is Eligible to Vote?

Who is a part of the largest (and only) political bloggers academy? Good question. In years past, only bloggers at Blog Bash were capable of voting. Now we have four categories people all over the country can meet in order to participate!

  1. Be a National Bloggers Club member. You can check on your membership status with my team by emailing If you’d like to become a member, please fill out this form: There’s only a 12 hour wait time before you’ll hear back form us!
  2. If you are not eligible of becoming a National Bloggers Club member or choose to pass on the opportunity, you must be a 2014 CPAC credentialed blogger and a Blog Bash 2014 blogger attendee. That means that ACU should have you credentialed AND you will have to have your Blog Bash eventbrite confirmation by Sunday afternoon.
  3. For the first time ever, sponsors will have a say. Each sponsoring organization gets a single vote. That means one! Sponsors contributing at the “Company sponsor” level and above should give a single email address to the Blog Bash host (Julie, Erik, or Bill) and they’ll get that information over to my team which will be plugged into the system allowing you to securely vote online on Monday. Please email if you’re interested in becoming a new sponsor.
  4. Obviously, Nominees are allowed one vote. Please make sure we’ve emailed you already or get your contact information to us!

If you feel that you meet a different standard, please email me. Your request will be passed to the National Bloggers Club board where exceptions can be granted. We understand that some folks are in the gray area or may be a quasi-blogger-quasi-professional-journalist or maybe be larger than a label altogether. And you don’t have to support us for us to support you!

The awards belong to the blogosphere community whom support individual and economic freedom. We want as many bloggers that fit into our mission voting!


What’s the Process After I’m Eligible?

We’re combining our four lists based on the criteria above–that means hundreds of eligible voters. From there we will plug it into our secure online voting portal, when voters will receive an email giving them a unique token allowing them one vote. Your vote is protected too. Nominees, Blog Bash hosts, and not even myself at first glance can track how you’re voting.

Please whitelist ( to ensure the email coming to you reaches your inbox and not your spam folder!

If you are among the few that is granted an exception, your votes will be manually tallied in a different system where you will not be anonymous to voting coordinators.


So make sure you’re a National Bloggers Club member (apply here: or that you’ve credentialed yourself into both CPAC and Blog Bash 2014. That way, come Sunday night, I’ll be plugging your name in so you can vote on the 2014 nominees!

Go find these nominees blogs, Twitter handles, and Facebook pages. They’re already campaigning for your vote!

Now click here to shoot our a tweet letting bloggers know they are eligible for this awesome opportunity.

The Blogger Awards Nominees of 2014

For the third consecutive year, an academy of political bloggers through the National Bloggers Club will vote for their peers to recognize and celebrate great work. Blog Bash organizers estimate up to 400 bloggers will qualify to vote in the only academy of its kind. This is the first year for two new awards which recognize the growth of the blogosphere wouldn’t be possible without other parties: “Journalist of the Year” and “Blogger Advocate of the Year”.  In previous years, blogger attendees voted in-person via mobile devices during the 6-hour annual event. This year, understanding that not every member can fly-in, the full academy will be able to vote through a secure online portal, administered by Danielle Saul.

National Bloggers Club members and Blog Bash 2014 attendees will receive an email giving them a unique hyperlink allowing them to vote on the nominees listed below and complete the annual Blog Bash issues survey. Club members and blogger attendees can check on their status by emailing Saul’s team at

Voting will be open from Tuesday, February 18th, through Friday, February 28th.

All nominees are invited to attend a special Blog Bash pre-reception with VIP guests, where a selection of awards will be presented. The winners of the panel selected awards will also be announced at the Blog Bash and its pre-reception.

Let us celebrate good work and good people who make the blogosphere a better place. Rules allow nominees to campaign and lobby support from the academy. Happy voting bloggers!


Bloggers’ Choice: Blogger Advocate

  • Ericka Andersen, Heritage Foundation
  • Ellen Carmichael, Rep. Tom Price’s office
  • Amelia Chassé, Hynes Communications
  • Andrew Clark, NRCC
  • Raffi Williams, RNC

Bloggers’ Choice: Journalist of the Year

  • Robert Costa, The Washington Post
  • Andrew Malcolm, Investor’s Business Daily
  • James Rosen, Fox News
  • Jake Tapper, CNN

Bloggers’ Choice: Movie of the Year (Jan 2013 – Feb 2014)

Bloggers’ Choice: Non-Profit Blogger of the Year

  • Jim Antle, Daily Caller News Foundation
  • Michael Bastasch, Daily Caller News Foundation
  • Ralph Benko, The Lehrman Institute
  • Sonny Bunch, Center for American Freedom
  • Jeffery Dunetz, David Horowitz Freedom Center

Best Activism Post of 2013

Best Investigative Post of 2013

Best Sunlight Post of 2013

Best in Show: Podcast

Best in Show: Microblog

Best in Show: Video


Panel awards: Blogger of the Year, Legacy Award, Friend to Bloggers (Julie Laughridge Award), Andrew Breitbart’s Changing the Narrative Award, Bloggers Stand With Award, and the Best State-Level Blogger Award.

The 2013 Blog Bash Award Nominees Are…

Bloggers’ Choice: Non-Profit Blogger of the Year
Sean Hackbarth, Chamber’s
Amelia Hamilton, Freedomworks
Lachlan Markay, Heritage Foundation Foundry Blog
Jim Pethokoukis, AEI
Ilya Shapiro, CATO
Best Investigative Post of 2012
Legal Insurrection – Bill Jacobson,
Best Sunlight Post of 2012
Bloggers’ Choice: Movie of the Year
Frack Nation
Hating Breitbart
Runaway Slave
Best In Show: Podcast

Coffee & Markets (Podcast)
Fingers Malloy (Podcast)
The Willie Lawson Show (Podcast)
Best In Show: Twitter
David Burge (@IowaHawkBlog)
Todd Kincannon (@ToddKincannon)
Kurt Schlichter (@KurtSchlichter)
Best In Show: Video
Julie Borowski – “Lena Dunham: First Time Parody” (Personality)
Ben Howe, Bruce Carroll, and Chris Loesch/Shock City Studios – “Not Without My Chicken” (Video)
Steven Crowder – “Unions Assault on Camera!” (Personality)